10/02/2019
Less than a week until the Sulzer Theme Day on Saturday 16th February, featuring the long awaited relaunch to traffic of Class 24, D5054 'Phil Southern'. Fellow Sulzers D7629, 33109, 45108, D1501 and 47765 will also run, it should be a cracking day!

Roster Timetable is now available for download via the ELR Website. It is also planned for D5054 and 33109 to run 'Top and Tail' on Sunday 17th February.

Loco Roster now updated through until the Thomas event in May.

Follow ELR:DG on Twitter! .. @elrdiesel for exclusive gen, post your photos, video links and comments too!


Dates Loco(s)
Saturday 16th February Sulzer Theme Day
Sunday 17th February D5054
33109
Saturday 23rd February 33109
Sunday 24th February 33109
Saturday 2nd March 50015
Sunday 3rd March 50015
Friday 8th, Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th March Spring Steam Gala

See the Roster Page for more
including timetable links

Drive one of our ex-British Railways mainline locos from the ELR fleet. Freight and passenger courses are available.

Have a go yourself or buy as a special Birthday gift .. more details »


Saturday 16th February Sulzer Theme Day
Thursday 4th, Friday 5th and Saturday 6th July Summer Diesel Gala
Saturday 21st September EE Theme Day
Saturday 9th November DMU Theme Day

The regular season also features diesel haulage on many Saturdays and Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Sulzer Theme Day Saturday 16th February
Local Residents Weekend Saturday 2nd and Sunday 3rd March
Spring Steam Gala Friday 8th, Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th March
Classic Bike Rally Sunday 21st April
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 4th, Sunday 5th and Monday 6th May
1940s Weekend Saturday 25th, Sunday 26th and Monday 27th May
Collectors Fair and Vintage Vehicle Gathering Saturday 15th and Sunday 16th June
Race The Train Sunday 23rd June
Summer Diesel Gala Thursday 4th, Friday 5th and Saturday 6th July
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th August
Sci-Fi on The Sidings Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th August
EE Theme Day Saturday 21st September
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 5th and Sunday 6th October
Autumn Steam Gala Friday 18th, Saturday 19th and Sunday 20th October
Halloween Specials Thursday 31st October
Friday 1st and Saturday 2nd November
DMU Theme Day Saturday 9th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 23rd and Sunday 24th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!