18/11/2018
The 2018 Santa Specials start next weekend. The main services will be 'Top and Tail' with Steam traction as previous years, with a DMU shuttle in operation. See the Loco Roster page for further details.

A commemorative DVD of the Class 40s@60 is now available, one for your Christmas Stocking! Check out the CFPS Website for more and details on all the Bury based Class 40s

Follow Bury Unit Team on Facebook for everything Railcar at the ELR!

2019 Enthusiast Event Dates have been released, see the Loco Roster page for details.

Follow ELR:DG on Twitter! .. @elrdiesel


Dates Loco(s)
Saturday 24th and
Sunday 25th November
33109
45108
Saturday 1st and
Sunday 2nd December
33109
45108
(Wednesday 5th December) (33109)
(Friday 7th December) (33109)
Saturday 8th and
Sunday 9th December
47765
45108
(Wednesday 12th December) (47765)
(Friday 14th December) (47765)

See the Roster Page for more
including timetable links

Drive one of our ex-British Railways mainline locos from the ELR fleet. Freight and passenger courses are available.

Have a go yourself or buy as a special Birthday gift .. more details »


2019 diesel event dates
Saturday 16th February Sulzer Theme Day
Thursday 4th, Friday 5th and Saturday 6th July Summer Diesel Gala
Saturday 21st September EE Theme Day
Saturday 9th November DMU Theme Day

The regular season also features diesel haulage on many Saturdays and Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Santa Specials Saturday 24th November to Monday 24th December
2019
Sulzer Theme Day Saturday 16th February
Spring Steam Gala Friday 8th, Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th March
Summer Diesel Gala Thursday 4th, Friday 5th and Saturday 6th July
EE Theme Day Saturday 21st September
Autumn Steam Gala Friday 18th, Saturday 19th and Sunday 20th October
DMU Theme Day Saturday 9th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!