25/09/2017
Thanks to all who came along for the Autumn Diesel Gala over the weekend, another great event for 2017. Please do share your photos and video links through the usual channels!

The ELR Diesel Group are grateful again to the volunteers and staff at the East Lancs as well as the visiting crews for making it all possible, cheers!

We hope to have some dates for next year's events available soon, meanwhile there's still diesels running at weekends, including steaming 40106 and the DMU Gala Weekend in November, not to be missed!

Follow ELR:DG on Twitter! .. @elrdiesel for exclusive gen, post your photos, video links and comments too!


Dates Loco(s)
Saturday 30th September 50015
Sunday 1st October 45108
(Monday 2nd October) (50015)
Saturday 7th and
Sunday 8th October
Thomas inc D1501
Saturday 14th and
Sunday 15th October
Autumn Steam Gala
Saturday 21st October 40106
Sunday 22nd October 40106

See the Roster Page for more
including timetable links

Drive one of our ex-British Railways mainline locos from the ELR fleet. Freight and passenger courses are available.

Have a go yourself or buy as a special Birthday gift .. more details »


2017 Season diesel event dates
Saturday 4th and Sunday 5th November DMU Gala Weekend

The regular season also features diesel haulage on most Saturdays and some Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th October
Autumn Steam Gala Saturday 14th and Sunday 15th October
School of Wizardry Thursday 26th October
Hallowe'en Ghost Trains Thursday 26th, Friday 27th and Saturday 28th October
DMU Gala Weekend and Railcar Association
DMU Convention
Saturday 4th and Sunday 5th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 18th and Sunday 19th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!