19/05/2019
Visiting traction for the Summer Diesel Gala has been confirmed with D8110, 20311, 20314 and 47715 courtesy of HNRC, 33035 Courtesy of Mike Jacobs and 56091 from DC Rail. Thursday 4th to Saturday 6th of July plus a day of mixed traction planned for Sunday 7th July featuring a couple of gala locos.

It is also hoped to have 20087 running (also courtesy HNRC) along with home fleet engines, subject to repairs. 20087 and D8110 will likely be leaving the ELR following the event. See the ELR Website for bookings and further details.

Follow ELR:DG on Twitter! .. @elrdiesel for exclusive gen, post your photos, video links and comments too!


Dates Loco(s)
Saturday 25th, Sunday 26th and Monday 27th May 1940s Weekend
(Friday 31st May) (56006)
Saturday 1st June D832
Sunday 2nd June D832
Saturday 8th June 47765
Sunday 9th June D7629
(Friday 14th June) (50015)
Saturday 15th June 50015
Sunday 16th June 56006

See the Roster Page for more
including timetable links

Drive one of our ex-British Railways mainline locos from the ELR fleet. Freight and passenger courses are available.

Have a go yourself or buy as a special Birthday gift .. more details »


Thursday 4th, Friday 5th and Saturday 6th July Summer Diesel Gala
Saturday 21st September Type 1-3 Theme Day
Saturday 9th November DMU Theme Day

The regular season also features diesel haulage on many Saturdays and Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
1940s Weekend Saturday 25th, Sunday 26th and Monday 27th May
Collectors Fair and Vintage Vehicle Gathering Saturday 15th and Sunday 16th June
Race The Train Sunday 23rd June
Summer Diesel Gala Thursday 4th, Friday 5th and Saturday 6th July
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th August
Sci-Fi on The Sidings Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th August
Type 1-3 Theme Day Saturday 21st September
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 5th and Sunday 6th October
Autumn Steam Gala Friday 18th, Saturday 19th and Sunday 20th October
Halloween Specials Thursday 31st October
Friday 1st and Saturday 2nd November
DMU Theme Day Saturday 9th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 23rd and Sunday 24th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!