16/06/2019
The Summer Diesel Gala Roster Timetable has been released with loco allocations. See the ELR Website for full details and booking information.

Visiting traction for the Summer Diesel Gala has been confirmed with D8110, 20311 and 20314 courtesy of HNRC, 33035 Courtesy of Mike Jacobs and 56091 from DC Rail. Thursday 4th to Saturday 6th of July plus a day of mixed traction planned for Sunday 7th July featuring a couple of gala locos.

It is also hoped to run 20087, subject to repairs (also courtesy HNRC) along with home fleet engines. 20087 and D8110 will likely be leaving the ELR following the event. See the ELR Website for bookings and more.

Follow ELR:DG on Twitter! .. @elrdiesel


Dates Loco(s)
Saturday 29th June D832
Sunday 30th June D9531
(Wednesday 3rd July) (37109)
Thursday 4th, Friday 5th and Saturday 6th July Summer Diesel Gala
Sunday 7th July TBC
Saturday 22nd June D5054
Sunday 23rd June 37109
Saturday 29th June D832

See the Roster Page for more
including timetable links

Drive one of our ex-British Railways mainline locos from the ELR fleet. Freight and passenger courses are available.

Have a go yourself or buy as a special Birthday gift .. more details »


Thursday 4th, Friday 5th and Saturday 6th July Summer Diesel Gala
Saturday 21st September Type 1-3 Theme Day
Saturday 9th November DMU Theme Day

The regular season also features diesel haulage on many Saturdays and Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Race The Train Sunday 23rd June
Summer Diesel Gala Thursday 4th, Friday 5th and Saturday 6th July
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th August
Sci-Fi on The Sidings Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th August
Type 1-3 Theme Day Saturday 21st September
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 5th and Sunday 6th October
Autumn Steam Gala Friday 18th, Saturday 19th and Sunday 20th October
Halloween Specials Thursday 31st October
Friday 1st and Saturday 2nd November
DMU Theme Day Saturday 9th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 23rd and Sunday 24th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!