15/07/2019
Roster Update: Unfortunately D832 will not run on Sunday 21st July, D9531 will cover the diagram.

Thanks to everyone who visited us for the Summer Diesel Gala. We're looking forward to seeing your photos and videos through the usual channels! We're grateful to DCR, Mike Jacobs and HNRC for the visiting traction and operational assistance as well as the Volunteers and Staff of the ELR, Thanks All!

DCR Class 56, 56091, was named 'Driver Wayne Gaskell (The Godfather)' in a ceremony on Sunday 7th July at Bury Bolton Street, a fitting tribute to a Railwayman who sadly passed away last year.

Follow ELR:DG on Twitter! .. @elrdiesel for exclusive gen, post your photos, video links and comments too!


Dates Loco(s)
Saturday 20th July D9531
Sunday 21st July D9531
Wednesday 24th July 104 DMU
Thursday 25th July 104 DMU
Friday 26th July D5054
Saturday 27th July D5054
Sunday 28th July 33035
Wednesday 31st July 105 DMU
Thursday 1st August 105 DMU
Friday 2nd August 45108

See the Roster Page for more
including timetable links

Drive one of our ex-British Railways mainline locos from the ELR fleet. Freight and passenger courses are available.

Have a go yourself or buy as a special Birthday gift .. more details »


Saturday 21st September Type 1-3 Theme Day
Saturday 9th November DMU Theme Day

The regular season also features diesel haulage on many Saturdays and Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th August
Sci-Fi on The Sidings Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th August
Type 1-3 Theme Day Saturday 21st September
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 5th and Sunday 6th October
Autumn Steam Gala Friday 18th, Saturday 19th and Sunday 20th October
Halloween Specials Thursday 31st October
Friday 1st and Saturday 2nd November
DMU Theme Day Saturday 9th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 23rd and Sunday 24th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!