If you are making a special journey to see or be hauled by a specific locomotive please check to avoid disappointment. This roster only relates to diesel workings. A list of ELR events is shown further down the page. See the ELR Website for the full running schedule.

Date Loco(s) Notes
Saturday 22nd April 50015 Blue Timetable
Sunday 23rd April 50015 Blue Timetable (Was 37109)
(Monday 24th April) (37109) (Driver Experience)
Saturday 29th April
to Sunday 1st of May
40106
DMU
(D2062)
(D9537)
Day Out with Thomas
(D2062 on Thomas Train Bury and D9537 on Troublesome Trucks at Ramsbottom, not for travel)
(Friday 5th May) (31466) (Driver Experience)
Saturday 6th May 31466 Blue Timetable
Sunday 7th May D9531* Blue Timetable *(31466 if heat required)
Saturday 13th May 40106
(Class 40)
Blue Timetable
(Driver Experience)
Sunday 14th May 37109* Blue Timetable *(40106 if heat required)
Saturday 20th May D1501 Blue Timetable (Was D7076)
Sunday 21st May D9537* Blue Timetable *(D1501 if heat required)
Saturday 27th to
Monday 29th May
----- 1940s Event
Saturday 3rd and
Sunday 4th June
Mixed Traction Small Engines Weekend
Saturday 10th June 45108 Yellow Timetable
East Lancs Enterprise CFPS Railtour
Sunday 11th June 37109 Blue Timetable Race the Train (Was D1501)
Saturday 17th June D9551 Yellow Timetable
D9531 and D9537 will also feature
Sunday 18th June D9551 Blue Timetable
D9531 and D9537 will also feature
Saturday 24th June 40106 Yellow Timetable (Was D7076)
Sunday 25th June 40106 Blue Timetable (Was D832)
Saturday 1st July 45108 Yellow Timetable
Sunday 2nd July 37109 Blue Timetable
Friday 7th, Saturday 8th
and Sunday 9th July
Various Summer Diesel Gala
(Friday 14th July) (37109) (Driver Experience)
Saturday 15th July 37109 Yellow Timetable
Sunday 16th July D9537 Blue Timetable
Saturday 22nd July 33109 Yellow Timetable (Was D832)
Sunday 23rd July D7076 Blue Timetable
(Monday 24th July) (D7076) (Driver Experience)
Wednesday 26th July DMU Orange Timetable
Thursday 27th July DMU Orange Timetable
Friday 28th July DMU Orange Timetable
Saturday 29th July D9531 Yellow Timetable
Sunday 30th July 37109 Blue Timetable
Wednesday 2nd August DMU Orange Timetable
Thursday 3rd August DMU Orange Timetable
Friday 4th August DMU Orange Timetable
Saturday 5th and
Sunday 6th August
Class 40
DMU
(Shunter)
Day Out with Thomas
(Shunter on Troublesome Trucks at Ramsbottom, not available for travel)
Wednesday 9th August DMU Orange Timetable
Thursday 10th August DMU Orange Timetable
Friday 11th August DMU Orange Timetable
Saturday 12th August 45108 Yellow Timetable (Was D832/D9537)
Sunday 13th August D1501 Blue Timetable (Was D7076/45108)
Wednesday 16th August DMU Orange Timetable
Thursday 17th August DMU Orange Timetable
Friday 18th August DMU Orange Timetable
Saturday 19th August Class 40 Yellow Timetable (Was 31466)
Sunday 20th August 37109 Blue Timetable
Wednesday 23rd August DMU Orange Timetable
Thursday 24th August DMU Orange Timetable
Friday 25th August DMU Orange Timetable
Saturday 26th August 50015 Family Fun Weekend
Sunday 27th August D7076 Family Fun Weekend (Was D9537)
Sunday 28th August D7076 Family Fun Weekend (Was D9531)
Tuesday 29th August DMU Orange Timetable
Wednesday 30th August DMU Orange Timetable
Thursday 31st August DMU Orange Timetable
Friday 1st September DMU Orange Timetable
Saturday 2nd September Class 40 Blue Timetable
Sunday 3rd September Class 40 Blue Timetable
Saturday 9th September D7076 Blue Timetable
Ales on the Rails, Beer and Cider Festival
Sunday 10th September D7076 Blue Timetable (Was D832)
Ales on the Rails, Beer and Cider Festival
plus Vintage Transport Gathering
(Monday 11th September) (D832) (Driver Experience)
Saturday 16th September D9531
(37109)
Blue Timetable (Was D832)
(Driver Experience)
Sunday 17th September D9537 Blue Timetable
Saturday 23rd and
Sunday 24th September
Various Autumn Diesel Gala
Saturday 30th September 45108
Blue Timetable (Was 31466)
Sunday 1st October 50015 Blue Timetable
(Monday 2nd October) (50015) (Driver Experience)
Saturday 7th and
Sunday 8th October
D1501
DMU
(Shunter)
Day Out with Thomas
(Shunter on Troublesome Trucks at Ramsbottom, not available for travel)
Saturday 14th and
Sunday 15th October
----- Autumn Steam Gala
Saturday 21st October DMU Blue Timetable
Sunday 22nd October DMU Blue Timetable
(Thursday 26th and Friday 27th October) (TBC) (Hallowe'en Ghost Trains - Event Tickets Apply)
Saturday 28th October DMU
(TBC)
Blue Timetable
(Hallowe'en Ghost Trains - Event Tickets Apply)
Sunday 29th October DMU Blue Timetable
Saturday 4th and
Sunday 5th November
DMUs Railcar Association DMU Gala
( TBC - to be confirmed )

Driver Experience and special trains
Shown in brackets and/or italic text. These trains are included for information only, it is not possible to travel on these unless you are a participant, invited guest or ticket holder for that service. See the ELR Website for more about booking a course yourself!

All advertised workings are subject to availability
While every effort will be made to ensure the rostered locos or units are available and running to the advertised timetable, the ELR reserves the right to cancel or terminate any service or use alternative motive power without prior notice.


Details of all services are available at the East Lancashire Railway Website
ELR Gradient Profile
The East Lancashire Railway has some substantial gradients, the PDF Gradient Profile document details these and mileage info. Click the image below to view or download.

Learn more about the ELR route and operations at the About The Line page.


ELRPS Membership includes discounted travel, well worth a look if you're a frequent visitor, especially for standard weekend running days. Click the logo above for details.
2017 Season diesel event dates
Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th June Small Engines Weekend
Friday 7th to Sunday 9th July Summer Diesel Gala
Saturday 23rd and Sunday 24th September Autumn Diesel Gala
Saturday 4th and Sunday 5th November Railcar Association DMU Gala

The regular season also features diesel haulage on most Saturdays and some Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 29th, Sunday 30th April and Monday 1st May
1940's Weekend Saturday 27th, Sunday 28th and Monday 29th May
The Pirate Express Thursday 1st June
Small Engines Weekend Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th June
Race the Train Sunday 11th June
Summer Diesel Gala Friday 7th, Saturday 8th and Sunday 9th July
Princess Adventure Fun Day Thursday 27th July
The Pirate Express Thursday 3rd August
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 5th and Sunday 6th August
School of Wizardry Thursday 10th August
Princess Adventure Fun Day Thursday 17th August
The Pirate Express Thursday 24th August
Family Fun Days Saturday 26th, Sunday 27th and Monday 28th August
School of Wizardry Thursday 31st August
ELR Beer and Cider Festival Friday 8th, Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th September
Vintage Transport Gathering Sunday 10th September
Autumn Diesel Gala Saturday 23rd and Sunday 24th September
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th October
Autumn Steam Gala Saturday 14th and Sunday 15th October
School of Wizardry Thursday 26th October
Hallowe'en Ghost Trains Thursday 26th, Friday 27th and Saturday 28th October
Railcar Association
DMU Gala and Convention
Saturday 4th and Sunday 5th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 18th and Sunday 19th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!