If you are making a special journey to see or be hauled by a specific locomotive please check to avoid disappointment. This roster only relates to diesel workings. A list of ELR events is shown further down the page. See the ELR Website for the full running schedule.

Date Loco(s) Notes
Saturday 20th January 50015 Blue Timetable
Sunday 21st January 50015 Blue Timetable
Saturday 27th January 40106 Blue Timetable
Sunday 28th January 40106 Blue Timetable
(Friday 2nd February) (D1501) (Footplate Experience)
Saturday 3rd February D1501 Blue Timetable
Sunday 4th February D1501 Blue Timetable
Saturday 10th February 33109 Blue Timetable
Sunday 11th February 33109 Blue Timetable
Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th February Various Winter/Spring Diesel Weekend
Saturday 24th February 45108 Blue Timetable
Sunday 25th February 45108 Blue Timetable
Friday 2nd to Sunday 4th March ----- Spring Steam Gala
Saturday 10th March D1501 Resident's Weekend Blue Timetable
Sunday 11th March D1501 Resident's Weekend Blue Timetable
Saturday 17th March 40106 Blue Timetable
Sunday 18th March 40106 Blue Timetable
Saturday 24th March 50015 Blue Timetable
Sunday 25th March 50015 Blue Timetable
(Monday 26th March) (50015) (Footplate Experience)
Friday 30th March to
Monday 2nd April
D1501 Tornado at the ELR
D1501 allocated for event support services.
Event Tickets apply. See ELR Website for more.
(Friday 6th April) (33109) (Footplate Experience)
Saturday 7th April 33109 Blue Timetable
Sunday 8th April 33109 Blue Timetable
(Thursday 12th April) (Class 40) (Footplate Experience)
Friday 13th, Saturday 14th and Sunday 15th April Class 40s 40s@60 Diamond Anniversary of the English Electric Type 4s
Saturday 21st April 50015 Blue Timetable
Sunday 22nd April 50015 Blue Timetable
(Monday 23rd April) (45108) (Footplate Experience)
Saturday 28th April 45108 Blue Timetable
Sunday 29th April 45108 Blue Timetable
(Friday 4th May) (Class 40) (Footplate Experience)
Saturday 5th, Sunday 6th and Monday 7th May Class 40
(D9537)
110/122
Day Out with Thomas
(D9537 on Troublesome Trucks at Ramsbottom, not available for travel). D2062 may also be in use.
Saturday 12th May D9537 Blue Timetable
Sunday 13th May D9531 Blue Timetable
(Friday 18th May) (37109) (Footplate Experience)
Saturday 19th May 37109 Blue Timetable
Sunday 20th May D7629 Blue Timetable
Saturday 26th, Sunday 27th and Monday 28th May ----- 1940s Weekend
Saturday 2nd June 56006 Blue Timetable
Sunday 3rd June 40106 Blue Timetable
Saturday 9th June D7076 Blue Timetable
Sunday 10th June D832 Race The Train Special Timetable
Saturday 16th June D5054 Collector's Fair Yellow Timetable
Sunday 17th June D7629 Collector's Fair Blue Timetable
Saturday 23rd June D9531 Yellow Timetable
Sunday 24th June 37109 Blue Timetable
Saturday 30th June D7629 Yellow Timetable
Sunday 1st July D9537 Blue Timetable
Friday 6th, Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th July Various Summer Diesel Gala
(Friday 13th July) (56006) (Footplate Experience)
Saturday 14th July 56006 Yellow Timetable
Sunday 15th July 37109 Blue Timetable
Wednesday 18th July Class 105 Orange Timetable
Thursday 19th July Class 105 Orange Timetable
Friday 20th July D5054 Orange Timetable
Saturday 21st July D7076 Yellow Timetable
Sunday 22nd July D832 Blue Timetable
(Monday 23rd July) (D832) (Footplate Experience)
Wednesday 25th July Class 104 Orange Timetable
Thursday 26th July Class 104 Orange Timetable
Friday 27th July D5054 Orange Timetable
Saturday 28th July D5054 Yellow Timetable
Sunday 29th July 33109 Blue Timetable
Wednesday 1st August Class 105 Orange Timetable
Thursday 2nd August Class 105 Orange Timetable
Friday 3rd August D1501 Orange Timetable
Saturday 4th and
Sunday 5th August
45108
(D9531)
110/122
Day Out with Thomas
(D9531 on Troublesome Trucks at Ramsbottom, not available for travel). D2062 may also be in use.
Wednesday 8th August Class 104 Orange Timetable
Thursday 9th August Class 104 Orange Timetable
Friday 10th August D5054 Orange Timetable
Saturday 11th August D5054 Yellow Timetable
Sunday 12th August D7629 Blue Timetable
Wednesday 15th August Class 105 Orange Timetable
Thursday 16th August Class 105 Orange Timetable
Friday 17th August D5054 Orange Timetable
Saturday 18th August D9531 Sci-Fi Weekend Yellow Timetable
Sunday 19th August D9537 Sci-Fi Weekend Blue Timetable
Wednesday 22nd August Class 104 Orange Timetable
Thursday 23rd August Class 104 Orange Timetable
Friday 24th August D1501 Orange Timetable
Saturday 25th August D1501 Yellow Timetable
Sunday 26th August 45108 Blue Timetable
Monday 27th August TBC Yellow Timetable
Wednesday 29th August Class 104 Orange Timetable
Thursday 30th August Class 104 Orange Timetable
Friday 31st August D5054 Orange Timetable
Saturday 1st September TBC Blue Timetable
Sunday 2nd September 37109 Blue Timetable
Saturday 8th September D832 ELR Beer Festival Blue Timetable
Sunday 9th September D7076 ELR Beer Festival and Vintage Vehicle Gathering
Blue Timetable
(Monday 10th September) (D7076) (Footplate Experience)
Saturday 15th September D9531 Blue Timetable
Sunday 16th September D9537 Blue Timetable
Saturday 22nd and Sunday 23rd September Various Autumn Diesel Gala
Saturday 29th September 37109 Blue Timetable
Sunday 30th September 50015 Blue Timetable
(Monday 1st October) (Class 40) (Footplate Experience)
Saturday 6th and
Sunday 7th October
40106
(D9537)
110/122
Day Out with Thomas
(D9537 on Troublesome Trucks at Ramsbottom, not available for travel). D2062 may also be in use.
Saturday 13th October Class 104 Blue Timetable
Sunday 14th October Class 104 Blue Timetable
Friday 19th, Saturday 20th and Sunday 21st October ----- Autumn Steam Gala
(Thursday 25th and Friday 26th October) (33109)(D1501) (Hallowe'en Specials
Event Tickets required for travel)
Saturday 27th October Class 105 Blue Timetable
(33109)(D1501) (Hallowe'en Specials
Event Tickets required for travel)
Sunday 28th October Class 105 Blue Timetable
(Wednesday 31st October) (33109)(D1501) (Hallowe'en Specials
Event Tickets required for travel)
Saturday 3rd and
Sunday 4th November
DMUs DMU Gala Weekend
Saturday 10th November Class 104 Blue Timetable
Sunday 11th November Class 104 Blue Timetable
Saturday 17th November Class 105 Lancashire Weekend Blue Timetable
Sunday 18th November Class 105 Lancashire Weekend Blue Timetable
(Monday 19th November) (D5054) (Footplate Experience)
( TBC - to be confirmed )

Driver Experience and special trains
Shown in brackets and/or italic text. These trains are included for information only, it is not possible to travel on these unless you are a participant, invited guest or ticket holder for that service. See the ELR Website for more about booking a course yourself!

All advertised workings are subject to availability
While every effort will be made to ensure the rostered locos or units are available and running to the advertised timetable, the ELR reserves the right to cancel or terminate any service or use alternative motive power without prior notice.


Details of all services are available at the East Lancashire Railway Website
ELR Gradient Profile
The East Lancashire Railway has some substantial gradients, the PDF Gradient Profile document details these and mileage info. Click the image below to view or download.

Learn more about the ELR route and operations at the About The Line page.


ELRPS Membership includes discounted travel, well worth a look if you're a frequent visitor, especially for standard weekend running days. Click the logo above for details.
2018 diesel event dates
Saturday 17th and
Sunday 18th February
Winter/Spring Diesel Gala
Friday 13th, Saturday 14th and Sunday 15th April 40s@60 Diamond Anniversary of the English Electric Type 4s
Friday 6th, Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th July Summer Diesel Gala
Saturday 22nd and
Sunday 23rd September
Autumn Diesel Gala
Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th November DMU Railcar Weekend

The regular season also features diesel haulage on most Saturdays and Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Winter/Spring Diesel Gala Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th February
Steam Gala Weekend Friday 2nd to Sunday 4th March
Resident's Weekend Saturday 10th and Sunday 11th March
Tornado at the ELR Thursday 29th March to Monday 2nd April
40s@60 English Electric Type 4 Diamond Anniversary Friday 13th, Saturday 14th and Sunday 15th April
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 5th to Monday 7th May
1940s Weekend Saturday 26th to Monday 28th May
Race the Train Sunday 10th June
Collector's Fair Saturday 16th and Sunday 17th June
Summer Diesel Gala Friday 6th to Sunday 8th July
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 4th and Sunday 5th August
Sci-Fi Weekend Saturday 18th and Sunday 19th August
ELR Beer Festival Friday 7th to Sunday 9th September
Vintage Vehicle Gathering Sunday 9th September
Autumn Diesel Gala Saturday 22nd and Sunday 23rd September
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 6th and Sunday 7th October
Autumn Steam Gala Friday 19th to Sunday 21st October
Hallowe'en Specials Thursday 25th, Friday 26th, Saturday 27th and Wednesday 31st October
DMU Gala Weekend Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!