If you are making a special journey to see or be hauled by a specific locomotive please check to avoid disappointment. This roster only relates to diesel workings. A list of ELR events is shown further down the page. See the ELR Website for the full running schedule.

Date Loco(s) Notes
Friday 23rd August 50015 West Country Weekend Yellow Timetable
Saturday 24th August 50015 West Country Weekend Yellow Timetable
Sunday 25th August D832 West Country Weekend Yellow Timetable (Was 56006)
Monday 26th August D832 West Country Weekend Yellow Timetable (Was 56006)
Wednesday 28th August 104 DMU Orange Timetable
Thursday 29th August 104 DMU Orange Timetable
Friday 30th August 37109 Orange Timetable (Was D5054/56006)
Saturday 31st August 33035 Yellow Timetable (Was D7629/40106)
Sunday 1st September 45108 Blue Timetable
Saturday 7th September D1501 Blue Timetable
Sunday 8th September D1501 Blue Timetable (Was 47765)
Saturday 14th September 47765
(D1501)
Blue Timetable (Was 40145/33035)
(Driver Experience Special)
Sunday 15th September 56006 Blue Timetable (Was 50015)
(Thursday 19th September) (D5054) (Driver Experience Special)
Saturday 21st September Various Type 1-3 Theme Day
Featuring Class 14,24,25,33 and 37
Sunday 22nd September 37109 Blue Timetable (Was Class 40)
Saturday 28th September D9531 Blue Timetable
Sunday 29th September D832 Blue Timetable
Saturday 5th and
Sunday 6th October
33035 Days Out with Thomas
(Friday 11th October) (40145) (Driver Experience Special)
Saturday 12th October 33035 Blue Timetable
Sunday 13th October 47765 Blue Timetable
Friday 18th, Saturday 19th and Sunday 20th October All Steam Autumn Steam Gala Weekend
Saturday 26th October 104/110 DMU Blue Timetable
Sunday 27th October 104/110 DMU Blue Timetable
(Thursday 31st October) (33109
47765)
(Evening Halloween Ghost Trains - Special Event Tickets Required for Travel)
(Friday 1st November) (33109
47765)
(Evening Halloween Ghost Trains - Special Event Tickets Required for Travel)
Saturday 2nd November 104/122 DMU
(50015)
Blue Timetable
(Driver Experience Special)
(33109
47765)
(Evening Halloween Ghost Trains - Special Event Tickets Required for Travel)
Sunday 3rd November 104/122 DMU Blue Timetable
Saturday 9th November DMUs DMU Theme Day
Sunday 10th November 105/110 DMU Blue Timetable
Saturday 16th November 50015 Blue Timetable
Sunday 17th November 50015 Blue Timetable
Saturday 23rd November 105/110 DMU Blue Timetable Lancashire Weekend
Sunday 24th November 105/110 DMU Blue Timetable Lancashire Weekend
( TBC - to be confirmed )

Driver Experience and special trains
Shown in brackets and/or italic text. These trains are included for information only, it is not possible to travel on these unless you are a participant, invited guest or ticket holder for that service. See the ELR Website for more about booking a course yourself!

All advertised workings are subject to availability
While every effort will be made to ensure the rostered locos or units are available and running to the advertised timetable, the ELR reserves the right to cancel or terminate any service or use alternative motive power without prior notice.


Details of all services are available at the East Lancashire Railway Website
ELR Gradient Profile
The East Lancashire Railway has some substantial gradients, the PDF Gradient Profile document details these and mileage info. Click the image below to view or download.

Learn more about the ELR route and operations at the About The Line page.


ELRPS Membership includes discounted travel, well worth a look if you're a frequent visitor, especially for standard weekend running days. Click the logo above for details.
Saturday 21st September Type 1-3 Theme Day
Saturday 9th November DMU Theme Day

The regular season also features diesel haulage on many Saturdays and Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
West Country Weekend Friday 23rd to Monday 26th August
Type 1-3 Theme Day Saturday 21st September
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 5th and Sunday 6th October
Autumn Steam Gala Friday 18th, Saturday 19th and Sunday 20th October
Halloween Specials Thursday 31st October
Friday 1st and Saturday 2nd November
DMU Theme Day Saturday 9th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 23rd and Sunday 24th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!