× Home Events Loco Roster Fleet Info Driver Experience Route Info Visitor Info Volunteering Contact

ELR Website

Loco Roster

If you are making a special journey to see or be hauled by a specific locomotive please check to avoid disappointment. This roster only relates to diesel workings. A list of ELR events is shown further down the page. See the ELR Website for the full running schedule.

Day Rover tickets are available. Discounts are generally available for pre-booked tickets.

Whilst Covid-19 restrictions have been lifted, the ELR encourage passengers observe sensible social distancing precautions. See the ELR Website for the latest details.

Date Loco(s) Notes
Sunday 31st July 26007 Blue Timetable Rover Ticket (Was D345)
Wednesday 3rd August 105 DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket
Thursday 4th August 105 DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket
Friday 5th August 33109 Orange Timetable Rover Ticket
Saturday 6th and Sunday 7th August 33109
Class 08
DMU
Day Out with Thomas
Wednesday 10th August 104 DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket (Was 110 DMU)
Thursday 11th August 104 DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket (Was 110 DMU)
Friday 12th August 50015 Orange Timetable Rover Ticket
Saturday 13th August 37109 Blue Timetable Rover Ticket
Sunday 14th August 37109 Blue Timetable Rover Ticket (Was 40106)
Wednesday 17th August 104 DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket
Thursday 18th August 104 DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket
Friday 19th August D9531 Orange Timetable Rover Ticket
Saturday 20th August 45108 Blue Timetable Rover Ticket (Was D7076)
Sunday 21st August D832 Blue Timetable Rover Ticket
Wednesday 24th August 105 DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket
Thursday 25th August 105 DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket
Friday 26th August TBC Orange Timetable Rover Ticket (Was D5054)
Saturday 27th August 25279 Blue Timetable Rover Ticket
Sunday 28th August 33109 Blue Timetable Rover Ticket
Monday 29th August 45108 Blue Timetable Rover Ticket
Wednesday 31st August DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket (Was 110 DMU)
Thursday 1st September DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket (Was 110 DMU)
Friday 2nd September TBC Orange Timetable Rover Ticket
( TBC - to be confirmed )

Driver Experience and special trains
Shown in brackets and/or italic text. These trains are included for information only, it is not possible to travel on these unless you are a participant, invited guest or ticket holder for that service. See the ELR Website for more about Driver Experience courses.

All workings subject to availability
While every effort will be made to ensure the rostered locos or units are available and running to the advertised timetable, the ELR reserves the right to cancel or terminate any service or use alternative motive power without prior notice.

Diesel Events

See the ELR Website for the full running schedule and travel instructions.

Event Date(s)
Autumn Diesel Gala Friday 16th and Saturday 17th September
DMU Weekend Saturday 12th and
Sunday 13th November
ELR Website
Details of all services are available at the ELR Website
ELR Gradient Profile
The East Lancashire Railway has some substantial gradients, the PDF Gradient Profile document details these and mileage info. Click the image below to view or download.

Learn more about the ELR route and operations at the About The Line page.

ELR Events

There are a wide range of events at the East Lancashire Railway ranging from Family and Education, Re-enactments, Sci-Fi, Transport and Collector's Fairs.

Selected events are shown below. See the ELR Website for the full event schedule.

Event Date(s)
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 6th and
Sunday 7th August
Autumn Diesel Gala Friday 16th and Saturday 17th September
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 1st and
Sunday 2nd October
DMU Weekend Saturday 12th and
Sunday 13th November

Covid Safety
Whilst Covid-19 restrictions have been lifted, the ELR encourage passengers observe sensible social distancing precautions. See the ELR Website for the latest details.

All events subject to availability
While every effort will be made to ensure events take place as advertised, rostered locos or units are available and running to the advertised timetable, the ELR reserves the right to cancel or terminate without prior notice.

ELR Website
Check out the ELR Website for the full event schedule.
ELR Contacts

Telephone: 0333 320 2830
Address: East Lancashire Railway
Bolton Street Station
Bolton Street
Bury, BL9 0EY

www.elrps.co.uk
www.eastlancsrailway.org.uk
ELR on Twitter ELR on Facebook ELR on Instagram