What's Next?

The 2016 Season was a little different, with Flying Scotsman taking centre stage in January and again in October too!

We had some great events including the Summer Diesel Gala and the Autumn Diesel Event in September was a belter with D213 joining the Bury based Class 40s. Thanks for your support!

ELR residents 33109, 40106 and 40135 all went to the Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway in July, thanks to our friends at the SRPS Diesel Group for the invitation and hospitality as always!

Class 14, D9537 'Eric', is still away on holiday having travelling down to the Spa Valley Railway to appear at their Summer Diesel Gala in August and is staying on at the Spa Valley Railway for a little while, returning home in March 2017.

The ELR Event Calendar is available further down the page or online at www.eastlancsrailway.org.uk. The Loco Roster for 2017 is also now online.

2017 Season diesel event dates
Saturday 23rd and Sunday 24th September Autumn Diesel Gala
Saturday 4th and Sunday 5th November Railcar Association DMU Gala

The regular season also features diesel haulage on most Saturdays and some Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

Follow us on Twitter for all the latest news and information ..
Share your photos and video links too! @elrdiesel

A list of general ELR Events is shown further down the page


ELRPS Membership includes discounted travel, well worth a look if you're a frequent visitor, especially for standard weekend running days. Click the logo above for details.
Please note: All advertised workings are subject to availability. Whilst every effort is made to ensure the rostered locomotives or units are available and running to the advertised timetable, the ELR reserves the right to make alterations without prior notice.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Princess Adventure Fun Day Thursday 27th July
The Pirate Express Thursday 3rd August
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 5th and Sunday 6th August
School of Wizardry Thursday 10th August
Princess Adventure Fun Day Thursday 17th August
The Pirate Express Thursday 24th August
Family Fun Days Saturday 26th, Sunday 27th and Monday 28th August
School of Wizardry Thursday 31st August
ELR Beer and Cider Festival Friday 8th, Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th September
Vintage Transport Gathering Sunday 10th September
Autumn Diesel Gala Saturday 23rd and Sunday 24th September
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th October
Autumn Steam Gala Saturday 14th and Sunday 15th October
School of Wizardry Thursday 26th October
Hallowe'en Ghost Trains Thursday 26th, Friday 27th and Saturday 28th October
Railcar Association
DMU Gala and Convention
Saturday 4th and Sunday 5th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 18th and Sunday 19th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!