What's Next?

The ELR Event Calendar is available further down the page or online at www.eastlancsrailway.org.uk. The Loco Roster for 2018 is also now online.

2018 diesel event dates
Saturday 17th and
Sunday 18th February
Winter/Spring Diesel Gala
Friday 13th, Saturday 14th and Sunday 15th April 40s@60 Diamond Anniversary of the English Electric Type 4s
Friday 6th, Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th July Summer Diesel Gala
Saturday 22nd and
Sunday 23rd September
Autumn Diesel Gala
Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th November DMU Railcar Weekend

The regular season also features diesel haulage on most Saturdays and Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

Follow us on Twitter for all the latest news and information ..
Share your photos and video links too! @elrdiesel

A list of general ELR Events is shown further down the page


ELRPS Membership includes discounted travel, well worth a look if you're a frequent visitor, especially for standard weekend running days. Click the logo above for details.
Please note: All advertised workings are subject to availability. Whilst every effort is made to ensure the rostered locomotives or units are available and running to the advertised timetable, the ELR reserves the right to make alterations without prior notice.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Winter/Spring Diesel Gala Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th February
Steam Gala Weekend Friday 2nd to Sunday 4th March
Resident's Weekend Saturday 10th and Sunday 11th March
Tornado at the ELR Thursday 29th March to Monday 2nd April
40s@60 English Electric Type 4 Diamond Anniversary Friday 13th, Saturday 14th and Sunday 15th April
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 5th to Monday 7th May
1940s Weekend Saturday 26th to Monday 28th May
Race the Train Sunday 10th June
Collector's Fair Saturday 16th and Sunday 17th June
Summer Diesel Gala Friday 6th to Sunday 8th July
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 4th and Sunday 5th August
Sci-Fi Weekend Saturday 18th and Sunday 19th August
ELR Beer Festival Friday 7th to Sunday 9th September
Vintage Vehicle Gathering Sunday 9th September
Autumn Diesel Gala Saturday 22nd and Sunday 23rd September
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 6th and Sunday 7th October
Autumn Steam Gala Friday 19th to Sunday 21st October
Hallowe'en Specials Thursday 25th, Friday 26th, Saturday 27th and Wednesday 31st October
DMU Gala Weekend Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!